Your Bridge to Playful Places

Excerpt from the book “Meet Your Playful Self”

Through the work of meeting your playful self you can cross a bridge separating the private practice of meditation from being out in the world.

What bridge is there
`
`
`

§
`
`
`


a
q
u
e
d
u
c
t


`
`
`

§
`
`
`


y
o
u
r

s
k
i
n



`
`
`

§
`
`
`

Might be crossed

`
`
`

§
`
`
`


c
o
v
e
r
e
d


`
`
`

§
`
`
`


y
o
u
r

h
a
i
r



`
`
`

§
`
`
`

Leaving me

`
`
`

§
`
`
`


t
r
e
s
s
e
l


`
`
`

§
`
`
`


e
v
e
r
y
t
h
i
n
g


`
`
`

§
`
`
`

On no side


_¸,.»=椺²° Meet Your Playful Self

19 thoughts on “Your Bridge to Playful Places

  1. Oh good…even though they were a bit of concession from the black and white ones…I too prefer the result…..

    Thanks.

    Like

  2. Hey there…I left a comment yesterday. Did you delete or did it just not post? Please let me know if I you read what I wrote as something offensive. I certainly didn’t mean it to be.

    Like

  3. Well…I am flattered that you got the “flow” beneath the bridge post…:) Yes…is seems we are continually challenged to cross our bridge to our “presence” – dancing helps!

    Like

  4. Nah….the only reason I did not reply was my own inexperience with getting behind the dash board and navigating across the bridge to the comment approval booth:)

    Like

  5. Hahaha! Sometimes I forget where that comment approval booth is too and people end up sitting there for ages.

    I’ve read over this particular post more than a few times without leaving a comment….perhaps it was the new digs that let the words out. 🙂 So glad to find you here (thanks go to GW for the link).

    P.S. You’re right, dancing helps a lot. Trick is to be okay when then bridge disappears beneath your feet. That seems to take a lot of practice and even more importantly, remembering to listen to the music.

    Like

  6. Hmmm…first thought that comes to mind is that you’re not really dancing unless you’re completely present to the moment – the now. As soon as my thoughts drift to my “to-do” list (or even how good the person I’m dancing with smells) I’m at risk of losing track of where I’m at and I’ll miss a lead. Funny flip side to that is that when you’re really, really in the moment…it feels like flying…and you’ve no idea who’s feet or bodies are who’s…or even who’s leading whom. It’s more of two into one…a conversation where both sides are speaking together as one unit.

    I also learned in my voice lessons(way back when I sang a lot) that it was all about the note you were on, not the next one or the one you just left but the note or the space between the note that you’re in/at/on.

    And that’s my non-scientific idea…

    Like

  7. It was meant to be an open question… and your reply is about as “right on” as it could be. So music, dance, is the bridge :)?

    Like

  8. I think the questions answer is that is gets both sides of brain working on an intuitive, flowing level while settling the brain waves into rhythms associated with meditation because of the music’s patterns effecting the brainwaves.

    Short version is its fun. *smiles*

    Like

  9. Greenwoman: Oh, yes….well….THAT. I was looking for those words too…haha! 😀 Yes, I was comparing tango to meditation earlier today. It can be…or it can’t. It really depends on why you’re dancing. Sorta like yoga. Yoga is a great meditation practice for me but for a lot of people it’s about building strength, balance, etc. It’s more a physical exercise. Seems like a lot of these kinds of things that we’re really drawn to are things that help us connect to that blissful state. Connecting ~ Bridging. It’s been much easier for me to find that place while in motion than sitting still. I have a very visceral need to experience things with my body. I have been finding, after having more of these experiences, that it is easier to let go while sitting in meditation now. Though I have to admit, I’d rather be dancing…

    Dennis: Music, dance, meditation, art, baking, making love, wiggling toes in the grass….whatever works for you is your “bridge”.

    Like

  10. Anj: MMmm….Well dancing is such a joyful meditation isn”t it?

    Definitely a good bridge if you ask me. Do either of you have any familiarity with Gabrielle Roth?

    She works with 5 basic musical rhythms and works with them as an ecstatic dance process. She’s actually got musical cd’s to do these moving meditations with…so I guess to answer your question Dennis…It is a good cd? *smiles*

    ((hugs)) to you both.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Forty-seven Paths to Play « playful

Leave a Reply

