Meet Your Playful Self – A bridge

An introduction to the book “Meet Your Playful Self” Available on the Kindle Reader soon!

A Bridge to YOU

Between the idea and the reality,
Falls the shadow.

The Hollow Men – T. S. Elliot

You are about to begin the real work and fun of meeting your playful self. I’ve been a seeker most of my life. I was raised as a Catholic in a small Wisconsin town until I was drawn to theatre and improvisation which took me to Maine, New York City, and Chicago, until I finally ended up right back to living in a small Wisconsin village.

Through this whole circle of my life I have sought for the spiritual essence circumscribing the center of my life. I now live near a the Kickapoo River in Southwest Wisconsin. I looked up the meaning of the silly sounding name for this very crooked river one day to find that it comes from the Algonquin Indian language and the name Kickapoo can be translated to mean: There and then here again. When I read those words I got a fuzzy down my back. The river I crossed hundreds of times a year carries the name that defined my whole life.

Seeking has lead to any number of paths including reading the works of any number of wonderful spiritual teachers, meditating, and practicing the 12 of Alcoholics Anonymous. Through all of this experience, time and travel, I have felt that something was missing; some link or connection between private meditation and living in the world at large. I can meditate or attend a 12 step meeting to come away floating lightly in the wake of the higher angel, but the minute I am cut off in traffic or do not get a role in a play or a position at work I deserve, I spiral down to some dark dismal hole.

Through the work of meeting my playful self I have found a bridge between private practice of meditation and being mindful out there in the world. Through the years, filled with meeting people discovering the paths to objectify life for performance, a bridge was built over the crooked river of meditation to a more mindful presence in day-to-day living.

What bridge is there
`
`
`

§
`
`
`


a
q
u
e
d
u
c
t


`
`
`

§
`
`
`


y
o
u
r

s
k
i
n



`
`
`

§
`
`
`

Might be crossed

`
`
`

§
`
`
`


c
o
v
e
r
e
d


`
`
`

§
`
`
`


y
o
u
r

h
a
i
r



`
`
`

§
`
`
`

Leaving me

`
`
`

§
`
`
`


t
r
e
s
s
e
l


`
`
`

§
`
`
`


e
v
e
r
y
t
h
i
n
g


`
`
`

§
`
`
`

On no side


When we meet in a group to find a pathway to our intuitive playful selves we are turning human communication into the stuff of a CSI episode. In this process of objectifying life we are pulling apart human communication and examining the process in a step-by-step, calculated way – right down to the DNA. We are looking for the what happens between the statement and the response.

When we look at the DNA in our daily communication with our family, friends and associates we can ask – How do we change this? – How can we find a more intuitive playful path to responding to the people in our lives ?- What do the words we are using to communicate say about who we are?

The workshop is guaranteed to bring you to new ways of looking at yourself. At times, after a workshop session you may find yourself buzzing and alert. At other times, you may find yourself a bit frustrated.

Exploring the paths and 47 exercises below in the workshop group will change your life.
Guaranteed…..or your old life back.

_¸,.»=椺²° Meet Your Playful Self

Leave a Reply

